About Us

The Ocean Cleanup develops technologies to extract, prevent, and intercept plastic pollution. The Ocean Cleanup’s goal is to fuel the world’s fight against oceanic plastic pollution, by initiating the largest cleanup in history.

Instead of going after the plastic - which would take many thousands of years and billions of dollars to complete - The Ocean Cleanup uses long floating barriers to let the ocean currents concentrate the plastic itself.

After having worked with a team of 100 volunteering scientists and engineers, a 2014 study confirmed the passive system is indeed likely a feasible and cost-effective method to remove half the Great Pacific Garbage Patch in 10 years’ time.

Project Timeline

Our Team

At The Ocean Cleanup we work with a team of approximately 100 committed people, performing research in the fields of engineering, physical oceanography, ecology, finance, maritime law, processing and recycling.


Boyan Slat
Founder & President

Ir. Frans Ratelband MSc

Femke Hoes


Boyan Slat

Michael Hartnack


Femke Hoes
Office Director

Robert Chesal
Head of Communications

Julia Reisser MSc
Lead Oceanographer

Rick Martini
Pilot Project Manager

Steven Mitchell
Expedition Manager

Eline Spek
Expedition Manager

Stella Diamant
Mega Expedition Coordinator

Francesco Ferrari
Lab Coordinatorr

Ianthe Dickhoff
Communications Manager

Lourens Boot
Interim Lead Engineer

Sneh Sameer

Lys-Anne Sirks
Expedition Assistant

Dieke van der Gugten
Assistant to the Office Director

Mario Vesco
Structural Engineer

Jan-Willem Damsteeg
Systems & Control Engineer
Extraction Technology

Sjoerd Drenkelford
Mechanical Engineer
Extraction Technology

Bruno Sainte-Rose
Lead Computational Modeler

Merel Bas
Communications Assistant


Hester van der Laan
Intern Pilot Projects


Sounding board

Leonid Pavlov
Computational Studies Advisor

Michiel Kruijff
System Engineering Advisor

Joost Niepoth
MarCom Advisor

Marketing and Communications

Sophie de Voogd
Demo model Designer

Andrea van den Berg
Demo model Designer

Elmar ten Kate
Demo model Designer

Lennart Opdam
Demo model Designer

Linde Rappard
Demo model Designer

Yiu Fung Chow
Demo model Designer

Jorne de Vries
Demo Model Designer

Matt del Biondi
Graphic Designer

Tom Pougin
Graphic Designer

Jonas Hermann
Graphic Designer

Lucas Körner
Graphic Designer

Robin Bugdahn
Graphic Designer

Bea Nagy

Dana Nentjes

Anne van Campenhout

Hans van Piggelen

Lenneke Karlas

Kees van Bezouw
Email Communications

Manissa Ruffles
Speaking Coordinator

Sabrina A. Roy
Social media Coordinator

Jolien Jonker
Documentary Intern

Research and Development


Nitin Prasad
App developer

Harm Pieters
App Developer

Eva Seignette
App Developer

Daniel Baker
App Developer

Bart Sturm
App Developer

Dan Pinder
Interim Vessel Recruitment Coordinator

Andreas Saavedra
Vessel Recruiter

Ella van Gool
Vessel Recruiter

Aude Pacini
Vessel Recruiter

Mario Merkus
Trawl Developer

Jan Maarten de Gruijter
Trawl Developer

Wouter de Vos
Trawl Developer

Mirjam van der Mheen
Trawl Developer

Claartje Ketelaars
Trawl Developer

Arnaud Graeffly
Composite expert

Martin Rijn

Denny Blokland
Packaging Designer Trawls 

Brody Lee
General Assistance to the R&D Dept 

Aristotle Boaitey
GIS work 


Herm Bussemaker
Naval Architect

Sergio Castellanos

Pilot Projects

Ioannis Katseris
Costing Engineer

Bettina Boschen
Lead Maritime Law Researcher

Maritime Law

Process Engineering

Norbert Fraunholcz
Lead Process Engineer

Rosmary Brandalise
Process Engineer

Kauê Pelegrini
Process Engineer

Diego Piazza
Process Engineer

Computational Modeling 

Simone Manuputty 
3D CAD Support 


Hanneke Stolk

Dario Grassini
Financial Assistant

Sonja van Eersel
Financial Assistant



Monique van de Graaf
Legal Counsel

Anna van Duin
Legal Counsel

Anouk Stevelmans
Legal Counsel

Martijn Stuart
Legal Counsel


Josje Erkelens
HR Management

Sanne Lemmens
HR Manager

Tjeerd Hoes
HR Advisor

Saskia Nijhof
Secretary support


Steven Bink
IT Coordinator

Rempko de Bie
IT Support

Maarten Eekels
SharePoint Consultant

Andres Schulz
Salesforce Consultant


Mary Adner

Kim Rybarczyk

Alison Frost


Colomba Grolleau
Translator Fench

Jaime López
Translator Spanish

Patricia Schiavone
Translator Spanisch

Pauline Horng BSc
Translator Traditional Chinese

Norbert Eggermont
Translator German

Tina Conrad
Translator German

Anne-Marie Vermunt
Translator English

Aya Sadahiro

General Assiantance

Sandra Quirijns
General Assistance

Astrid Groot
General Assistance

Bara Halikova
General Assistance

Etienne Schweistries
General Assistance

Wieke Dingler
General Assistance

Ema Halikova
General Assistance

Gabrielle van Steenstraten
General Assistance

Rene van Arend
General Assistance

Yoli Wheeler
General Assistance